About Palakonda Municipality

Palakonda is a town in Srikakulam district of the Indian state of Andhra Pradesh. It is a nagar panchayat and the mandal headquarters of Palakonda mandal.[2][3]





Palakonda is located at 18.6000°N 83.7500°E.[4] It has an average elevation of 44 meters (147 feet).


According to the Imperial Gazetteer of India,[5] Palkonda Taluk was in Vizagapatnam district with a total area of 502 square miles (1,300 km2). The cultivated land is irrigated by the Nagavali River. The Agency area contains about 56 square miles (150 km2) of Reserved Forest. The population in 1901 was 215,376 compared with 201,331 in 1891. There were two towns Palkonda and Razam and 334 villages. The Agency area had population of about 11,000 people, chiefly Savaras living in 106 villages. The greater part of Taluk was held on Ryotwari and belongs to Rajas of Bobbili and Vizianagram.

It was within Ganjam District of Orissa state till 1950 when Srikakulam district was formed.

Government and politics

Palakonda Nagar panchayat is a civic body constituted in the year 2013. It constitutes total population of 31,425 with a growth rate of 8.91 % from 2001. It is spread over an area of 6.50 km2 (2.51 sq mi).[1][6] The present municipal commissioner of the town is B. Ramu.[7]

Assembly constituency

Palakonda is an assembly constituency in Andhra Pradesh reserved for Scheduled Castes. There were 120,726 registered voters in this constituency in 1999 elections. Now from 2009 onwards the Assembly Constituency reservation changed to S.T.

List of elected members:[8]

Palakonda Assembly candidates details:
Year Winner Party Votes Runner Up Party Votes Margin (majority)
2014 Viswasarai Kalavathi YSRCP 55337 Jaya Krishna Nimmaka TDP 53717 1620